Are you doing the thing you love more than anything else?

Posted on October 8, 2010

2


I got my hair cut today by a sweet young woman named Alysa.  Alysa is living with her parents while she goes to school, taking business school classes.  She spends about 40 hours a week on school and 30 hours a week cutting hair to pay the bills.  She’s attractive and personable.  She mentioned auditioning for singing parts on cruises.  When I asked how much she loved to sing, she said, “Singing is the thing I love more than anything else.”

Wow.

How many of us actually KNOW what we love more than anything else?

Alysa had auditioned for the music program at Virginia Commonwealth University – and was turned down as not quite ready, whatever that means.  While she had grown up auditioning for – and getting – many singing roles, she was not doing anything currently with her singing.  School and work consumed so much time, you see.

I wanted to shake Alysa, to sit her down and give her a good talking to.  But I don’t know Alysa, so I just told her to do SOMETHING, anything with her singing.

If Alysa were my friend, I would tell her:

  1. You are SO LUCKY to have this talent – and, on top of the talent, you have this love of  singing, a love so strong that you don’t hesitate to identify it as your one true love.  That’s a blessing.
  2. You are young and the world sits before you, and business school is such a practical course, BUT! Business school teaches you how to make money (or not) – it can’t tell you what passion to follow or how to stay energized and motivated in your business.
  3. If you follow your passion, you can figure out a way to pay the bills, AND you will savor that life and wring every drop of flavor from it.

I sure hope Alysa finds a way to follow her heart.  I might have to go back just to check up on her.

My questions for you:

  1. Do you KNOW what the thing you love more than anything else is?  (What is it?)
  2. WHAT are you doing about the thing you love???  (Share!)

Please share your answers in the comments!

As for me, I’m wishing for one true love – I feel like I could love many things (writing, photography, music, art . . . )  But I am taking steps to do more of what I love.  I wish I had Alysa’s focus!

Love to hear your stories.  What would you tell Alysa?

Ami

Posted in: Uncategorized