Why the virtuous path doesn’t work for me – or, using play to accomplish your goals

Posted on January 7, 2010

3


[picapp align=”none” wrap=”false” link=”term=kids+race&iid=31242″ src=”0030/61c63a52-f22b-4cb6-9dc4-5e7b25fa135f.jpg?adImageId=8850021&imageId=31242″ width=”380″ height=”253″ /]

I’d rather laugh with the sinners than cry with the saints . . . The sinners are much more fun.  – Billy Joel

I’m a 40-something wife, mother of 3 and occasional Very Serious Professional, and I’m still rebelling against the ‘should do’s.  I don’t want to be told I should do something, even if I’m the one telling myself I should do it.  I don’t want to be Good, Virtuous, and Responsible.  That’s for old people.  Or boring people.

Not very grown up, I admit.  Not sure where this attitude problem comes from.  All I know is that as soon as I start thinking, “I should . . . ” my little rebellious brain starts thinking of excuses for why I don’t have to, seeking out loopholes that absolve me from the suddenly onerous ‘should’.  As a result, goals that are cast as ‘should’s don’t get done.  This means that, if I want to achieve outrageous goals, I have to trick my little inner rebel into thinking my goals are actually Play.

Is this a woman thing?  Is it because I have to be Responsible in so many aspects of my life that Responsibility seems like such a drag?  Or am I just particularly juvenile?

In any case, I’ve decided to approach my goals in a less virtuous and ‘success-oriented’ manner and, instead, frame them (at least in my mind) in a way that will entice my inner Peter Pan.  This means I will cast  my goals as play, winning a game, pretending.  Thus:

  • I should take my writing Seriously becomes => I will play the role of the Great American Writer, complete with costume (beret!), props (great pens! cool journals!), attitude (confident, mysterious, sexy), and output (crazy, fun, silly, amazing pieces)
  • I should get a Job becomes => I am going to have a blast connecting with fascinating people who love what they do and brainstorming ideas to connect with other people who do what I love to do.  The  more, the merrier.
  • I should lose weight becomes => I will get outside in the sun and run and play with my crazy dog.  I will only eat food that delights my tongue.  I will savor cooking, preparing and eating beautiful meals.  And – I’m gonna dance and learn to hula hoop!  [thanks to Kelly Diels at Cleavage for the link!]

How about you?  Do you ever have trouble accomplishing your goals?  Does re-casting your Serious Goals as Play help?  Would love to know your experience.

Update: Here is proof that it works (it’s on the internet, so it must be true): How do you get people to use the stairs, rather than the escalator?  Make the stairs more fun!

Thanks to Thefuntheory.com (and the folks at Volkswagon) for the video – and for a fun site.  Check it out!

As always, if you liked this post, please consider sharing with a friend:

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

If you liked this post, you may also like:

Posted in: Uncategorized