It’s not settling if it’s part of the Plan for World Domination

Posted on November 16, 2009

0


[picapp src=”0256/0a6ee4d5-5b45-408b-b776-3f8c94929fda.jpg?adImageId=7533097&imageId=259761″ width=”234″ height=”331″ /]

I am a bit of an Idealist.  For me, Tilting at windmills = cool.  Writing a crappy book in 30 days without hope of publication or payment = sublime.

The problem with being an Idealist is that you want and expect everything to be perfect and wonderful, and sometimes you wait for everything to be perfect and wonderful before acting.  The advice: don’t let the perfect get in the way of the good was meant for Idealists.

Sometimes being an Idealist makes me ignore or discard perfectly good opportunities because they are not Perfect and following them would be “settling.”  And we Idealists never settle.  Ever.

This is not always a good perspective to have if you want to get things done.  Like making a living.

I remember a gentleman who used to work with me at the Big Company.  He was a paralegal working on human resources issues.  This was NOT his calling.  His calling was to be a minister.  But he put his heart and soul into his work for the Big Company because he knew that his work was helping him, incrementally, to pursue his calling.  He worked hard during the day and brought home a paycheck.  On evenings and weekends he preached, he led church groups, he volunteered.  He applied for jobs as pastor at a number of churches – and was turned down.  He kept on working hard at the Big Company, with a smile on his face.  He became “Dr MoMo” at the Big Company, sharing Motivational Moments with co-workers and pursuing his calling for free at the office.  And, finally, he got the call.  He’s now the pastor for a huge church, where his congregation adores him.  He did his job at the Big Company well AND he pursued his calling.  Even though his job was NOT his calling, he did it well because it helped him get to where he was going.

As my Plan for World Domination becomes clearer, I’m starting to realize that making money doing stuff other than my calling is not a bad thing – IF I have the right mind set. I can do a great job at work and be happy, so long as I continue to execute my Plan.  Eventually, I might be able to will make money pursuing my calling.   Or I might not.  But knowing that I will continue to pursue my calling, regardless of how I earn my income, makes me happy.  And honoring my commitment to my calling will make me a good employee at the next Big Company.  It’s all part of the Plan.

So – have you got Your Plan for World Domination?  Can you work on it even if your job is not perfectly aligned with your calling?  Maybe you can adjust your job to test out your calling in a tiny way. Or maybe your job takes care of money worries while you execute the Plan.  So long as you have your Plan and you keep chipping away at it, a little at a time, you’re good!

Here’s a bit from one of Dr. MoMo’s last emails, based on a Martha Graham quote:

“There is a vitality, a life force, an energy, a quickening that is translated through you into action, and because there is only one of you in all of time this expression is unique.  If you block it, it will never exist through any other medium, and will be lost.  The world will not have it.  It is not your business to determine how good it is, nor how valuable, nor how it compares with other expressions.  It is your business to keep it yours, clearly and directly, to stay open and aware to the urges that motivate you.  Keep the channel open.”  –  Martha Graham, Modern Dancer and Choreographer

Living, being, sharing yourself with the world.  What a challenge it is to live from that place, to live from the belief that if you don’t share yourself with the world, the gift of you will be lost and the world will not have it!  How many of you actually get what a gift you are?  Just because you exist, you are a gift!  Wouldn’t it be exciting to live in the world thinking, knowing, that you are a gift.  Not with conceit, but with joy that you are a gift.  Imagine how different your life would be!

As always, if you liked this post, please consider sharing with a friend:

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Posted in: Uncategorized