Change your view of what’s possible and change your life

Posted on November 15, 2009

3


[picapp src=”b/0/7/f/Roger_Bannister_33e4.jpg?adImageId=7500529&imageId=6055266″ width=”234″ height=”162″ /]
Roger Bannister was the first man to break the 4 minute mile. Photo: Allsport UK/Getty Images

It seems to me that some of the saddest phrases I hear are:

  • I could never do that
  • I’d be scared to try that
  • I’m too old to try something new
  • I wish I could do that, but
  • My life is too busy for that

Especially when the ‘that‘ is something that the speaker longs for.

So I love to read about people who’ve done amazing things.  Things that expand my view of what is possible.  Sometimes, letting your brain know that something is possible is all it takes for you to do it.  For a long time, people thought that running a mile in 4 minutes was simply a physical impossibility.  The IAAF began tracking world record times for the mile in 1913, but it was not until 1954 that Roger Bannister  broke the 4 minute barrier, almost 9 years after Gunder Hagg set the world record at 4:01.3 minutes.  And then, 6 weeks later, John Landy broke the 4 minute barrier.  And since then, the 4 minute barrier has been broken hundreds of times.  Is it possible that Roger Bannister broke a mental block, not just for himself, but for other runners as well, about what was possible?

Yesterday I posted about Eva Zeisel, who turned 103 and is designing beautiful ceramic pieces for Royal Stafford.  If she can create beautiful and functional works of art in her 100s, then perhaps we all can pursue our callings whenever or wherever we are.

And on a similar vein, I read an article in Runner’s World magazine about 82 year-old Bob Hayes, who has run the LeGrizz 50 Miler race 12 times, the first time when he was 70 years old.  This doesn’t mean we should all be running 50 miles at a shot – unless that’s a passion.  But when we expand our view of what’s possible, then maybe we can make more of our dreams come true.  And maybe that ‘someday’ item that tugs at your heart and soul can move from the ‘impossible’ side to the ‘possible’ side.

Do you know of any great stories that changed your view of what was possible?  I’d love to read them!

I plan to continue posting stories about people accomplishing things that didn’t seem possible before they did them.  I hope they inspire you as much as they do me.  My question/challenge for you in the meantime: what is that dream you have firmly tucked into the ‘impossible’ column??  Are you sure it’s in the right spot?  Expand your view of the possibilities -and see what happens!

As always, if you liked this post, please consider sharing with a friend:

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

NaNoWriMo status: approaching 12k, hoping to hit 14k tonight.  Think that’s possible?  🙂

