Day 13 – Not too old . . . for anything!

Posted on November 1, 2009

0


[picapp src=”0249/c7097235-361a-4ab9-b700-dd86cb0345b6.jpg?adImageId=7072172&imageId=253365″ width=”234″ height=”158″ /]
I hope my kids think I’m as cool as this lady (someday)!
[picapp src=”b/3/b/9/74.jpg?adImageId=7072231&imageId=3646326″ width=”234″ height=”298″ /]
That’s former prez Bush (senior), skydiving on his EIGHTIETH birthday

I just read a mini author bio about author Barb Johnson, who published her first book at age 52, after spending 20 years as a carpenter in New Orleans.  She got her Master of Fine Arts (MFA) degree in 2008, where she was not the oldest student in the class.  Her philosophy is that “we get to things when we’re ready for them.”  Another point that she makes was that we often fear entering a new endeavor, so we manufacture obstacles between ourselves and what we want.  So true!  Her story (about a page long) inspired and motivated me, just when I needed it.  If you’re looking for motivation, check out her bio from Glimmertrain.

It’s not too late, no matter what your age or where you are in life, to tackle that longing!  Give yourself a shot, try a little taste, see how it feels.

That’s it for today.  Turning to NaNoWriMo, considering starting with “It was a dark and stormy night . . . ” just to remind myself that, at this point, I give myself permission to write a crappy draft! Wish me luck – and persistence.

