Pausing for self-assessment

Posted on October 22, 2009

0


[picapp src=”0155/7ea0b9ce-58c6-4ca8-8e81-db5319cf9594.jpg?adImageId=6407962&imageId=159502″ width=”234″ height=”351″ /]

Well, I made it to Day 10 (did you?)

What did I learn?

1. I enjoyed the first 10 days a lot.  A LOT.  Even though at times it has felt like work, even though I still worry about frittering away my time.  There is something amazing about this whole navelgazing process.  I highly recommend it for anyone still on the fence – it’s worth the effort, and it really doesn’t take that much time, just a commitment to do a wee little bit every day.  You can do that, right?

2. Having an attitude of “what the heck?” or “what’s the worst that could happen?” helps.  This light attitude has resulted in this blog (hurrah!).  Ironically, this light attitude has gotten me to take my “fun” activities a bit more seriously.  And by elevating my “play” and treating it with respect, I find that I enjoy it more.  Having a light attitude resulted in my signing up for NaNoWriMo (yes, I did, she declared to the world. status: obtained a book on writing a novel in a month. genre: middle grade readers (because, even as a 40-something mom, wife, and former serious person, middle grade books are my favorite) word count: 0 but it’s still October).

3. Doing beats thinking hands down. Thinking about being a writer (especially thinking about being a starving writer): bummer, unmotivating, uncool (despite the ability to develop great angst without writing a single word). Writing: very cool.

So, I’m looking forward to the next 30 days of this effort. But for those of you who might be lingering on the fringes, who have a secret, dear thing you want to try “someday” I ask “What’s the worst that could happen?” Do it! Just a little bit. Try it out and see what happens. You may surprise yourself.

And in that vein, congratulations to Vivian Lawry, my fellow Virginian and writing group member, whose new novel has been published and is now available on amazon.com. Way to go Vivian!

Posted in: Uncategorized